Inclusion

People with disabilities
©MFSVA Logo Inclusion

 

 

 

 

" People with disabilities must be able to live independently.

They must be able to decide freely about their lives.

They must have the same rights as people without disabilities." 

 

 

 

This is what is being stated by the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD), an agreement of the United Nations on the rights of persons with disabilities from December 13, 2006.

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities defines people with disabilities as follows:

“Persons with disabilities include those who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which in interaction with various barriers may hinder their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others.”

Luxembourg signed this convention in 2007. The UN Convention and the Optional Protocol entered into force for Luxembourg on October 26, 2011. This means that Luxembourg has since been legally obliged to implement the measures envisaged by the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD). Further information on the UNCRPD can be found here.

The Ministry for Family Affairs, Solidarity, Living Together and Reception of Refugees (MiFa) is responsible for the implementation of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD) in Luxembourg. A National Action Plan is drawn up for this purpose, in which priorities, objectives and concrete measures are set out for a period of five years. Further information on the National Action Plan can be found here.

Currently, Luxembourg already has a whole series of government measures and offers that serve to compensate for disadvantages that can arise due to a disability. You can find more detailed information on government services in this domain on the Guichet.lu website.

In addition to the governmental services, there are also many associations in Luxembourg that offer information, services, and activities for people with disabilities. You can find more information on this on the website of Info Handicap , the national information and meeting point for people with disabilities.

Last update

Inklusion

Menschen mit Behinderung
©MFSVA Logo Inclusion

 

 

 

 

"Menschen mit Behinderung müssen unabhängig leben können.

Sie müssen frei über ihr Leben entscheiden können.

Sie müssen dieselben Rechte haben wie Menschen ohne Behinderungen." 

 

 

 

So steht es in der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention (UNBRK) [ES1] – ein Übereinkommen der Vereinten Nationen über die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen – vom 13. Dezember 2006.

Menschen mit Behinderungen sind nach der Definition der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention:

"(...) Menschen, die langfristige körperliche, seelische, geistige oder Sinnesbeeinträchtigungen haben, welche sie in Wechselwirkung mit verschiedenen Barrieren an der vollen, wirksamen und gleichberechtigten Teilhabe an der Gesellschaft hindern können."

Luxemburg hat dieses Übereinkommen im Jahr 2007 unterzeichnet. Seit dem 26. Oktober 2011 ist die UN-Konvention und das Fakultativprotokoll für Luxemburg in Kraft getreten. Das bedeutet, dass Luxemburg seitdem rechtlich verpflichtet ist, die vorgesehenen Maßnahmen der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention (UNBRK) umzusetzen. Weitere Informationen zur UNBRK finden Sie hier.

Das Ministerium für Familie, Solidarität, Zusammenleben und Unterbringung von Flüchtlingen (MiFa) ist zuständig für die Umsetzung der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention (UNBRK) in Luxemburg. Hierzu wird ein Nationaler Aktionsplan erstellt, in dem jeweils für den Zeitraum von fünf Jahren Prioritäten, Ziele und konkrete Maßnahmen festgehalten werden. Weitere Informationen zum Nationalen Aktionsplan finden Sie hier .

Aktuell gibt es in Luxemburg bereits eine ganze Reihe an Maßnahmen und Angeboten der Regierung, die dazu dienen, Nachteile auszugleichen, die durch eine Behinderung entstehen können. Genauere Informationen zu den staatlichen Leistungen in diesem Bereich finden Sie auf der Seite Guichet.lu.

Neben den staatlichen Angeboten gibt es in Luxemburg auch viele Vereine, die Informationen, Angebote und Aktivitäten für Menschen mit Behinderungen anbieten. Nähere Informationen hierzu finden Sie auf der Seite von Info Handicap[ES5] , der Nationalen Informations- und Begegnungsstelle im Bereich Behinderung.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am